AAPRA Payments

News & Events

Announcing the Academy for Park & Recreation Administration (AAPRA) 2020 Best Dissertation Award

Please click here for full information.

2020 AAPRA Membership Nomination Due June 4 - Download Here

2020 Young Professional Externship Application Due May 22 - Download Here

Academy 2019-2020 Board of Directors:

President:                        Dianne Hoover, Bakersfield, CA, dhoover@bakersfieldcity.us 
President-elect:               Michael McCarty, Glenview Park District, IL, michael.mccarty@glenviewparks.org 
Past President:                Carolyn F. McKnight, Dallas, TX, cfmbray@yahoo.com 
Treasurer:                        Bill Foelsch, Township of Morris, NJ, bfoelch@morristwp.com
Secretary:                         Janet Bartnik, Mountain Recreation District, Gypsum, CO, JBartnik@mountainrec.org 
Directors:                         Tracey Crawford, Northwest Special Recreation Association,
                                          Rolling  Meadows, IL, tcrawford@nwsra.org 
                                          Joe Turner, New Braunsfel, TX, wjoeturner@icloud.com 
                                         Terry Schwartz, Greensboro, NC, tgschwartz33@yahoo.com 
                                         Susan Trautman, Great Rivers Greenway District, St. Louis, MO, strautman@grgstl.org 
                                         Steve Wolter, Eppley Institute, Bloomington, IN, sawolter@indiana.edu
                                         Mary Beth O'Dell, Kettering,OH, marybeth.odell@ketteringoh.org 


L to R: Joe Turner, Dianne Hoover, Susan Trautman, Bill Foelsch, Janet Bartnik,

Mary Beth (Thaman) O’Dell, Michael McCarty, Carolyn F. McKnight, Tracey Crawford

Academy Members Inducted in 2019: 

  • Rick Atkins – Director, Parks and Recreation; Round Rock, TX
  • Robert Barcelona – Chair and Associate Professor Dept. of Recreation Management and Policy, University of New Hampshire; Durham, NH
  • Chris Beth – Director, Parks, Recreation and Community Services; City of Redwood City, CA
  • Darrell Crittendon – Director, Parks, Recreation and Open Space; Norfolk, VA
  • Myron Floyd – Professor and Dept. Head College of Natural Resources, North Carolina State University; Raleigh, NC
  • Jill Geller – Director, Parks & Recreation, City of Roseville, CA
  • Karen Hesser – Chief of Operations, Five Rivers Metroparks; Dayton, OH
  • Troy Houtman – Director, Parks, Arts and Recreation; Wichita, KS
  • Michael Kirshman – Director, Parks and Recreation; Virginia Beach, VA
  • Donna Kuethe – Director, Parks and Recreation; Moultonborough, NH
  • Terry Rynard – Director of Parks and Recreation; Kansas City, MO
  • Joe Snook – Administrator, Parks and Recreation; Lee’s Summit, MO
  • Daniel Stencil – Executive Officer, Oakland County Parks and Recreation; Waterford, MI
  • Anson (Cory) Styron – Director, Outdoor Recreation Industry Initiatives; Farmington, NM
  • Greg Weitzel – Director, Parks and Recreation; Las Vegas, NV
  • Dan West – Director, Broward County Parks and Recreation Division; Oakland Park, FL
  • James Worsley – Director, Parks and Recreation Chesterfield County; Chesterfield, VA


2019 Pugsley Medals Recipients

Richard J. Dolesh, past director, Patuxent River Park, MNCPPC; Maryland Department of Natural Resources; and currently vice president of strategic initiatives, National Recreation and Park Association, Ashburn, VA.

Renee E. Bahl, past assistant director, Arizona State Parks; director, San Diego County Parks and Recreation Department; executive director, Arizona State Parks Board, assistant county executive, Santa Barbara County, CA; and currently Associate Vice Chancellor, University of California, Santa Barbara, CA.

Dr. Phillip Rea, past superintendent Eagle Creek, City of Indianapolis, IN; assistant professor, professor, department chair, North Carolina State University; and director of the Revenue Development and Management School.
Ruth Prescott, Chief of Staff, National Park Foundation, Brian Borkowicz, Pugsely Medal supporting sponsor, Davey Tree Expert Company, and Ralph Cryder, Chair, Pugsley Committee presented the medals. 


2019 National Gold Medal Grand Plaque Recipients

Armed Forces:               Marine Corps Base Camp Smedley D. Butler, Okinawa, Japan
State Parks:                    Florida Park Service/Florida Department of
                                         Environmental Protection
Class V:                           Glencoe Park District, IL
Class IV:                          Westerville Parks and Recreation, OH
Class III:                          The Woodlands Township, TX
Class II:                            Metro Parks Tacoma, WA
Class I:                             Fairfax County Park Authority, VA
The National Gold Medal Awards Program is sponsored by Musco Lighting, LLC and is administered by the National Recreation and Park Association, under the direction of the American Academy. 

Research Committee Identifies 10 Themes for Future Research to Address Challenges

Establishing evidence-based management strategies has been a primary concern of the profession for many years.  In 2018 the AAPRA Research for the Advancement of P & R Task Force was charged to conduct a survey to identify the primary research needs and interests among the AAPRA members.   There were 59 respondents; of these respondents, 55 were Fellows not associated with an academic institution.  Since the charge was primarily focused on research needs as identified by practicing professionals, the responses from the four academic affiliated Fellows were not included in the final analysis. Ten overriding themes were identified. The Board of Directors determined the Task Force is now a standing committee of the Academy.  Click here to read full descriptions of the themes and next steps.