Member Biography

Bonnie W Noble

Bonnie W. Noble has served as Director of Parks and Recreation for the Pleasure Driveway and Park District of Peoria since 1992. Under her leadership, the District received the 1994 and 2001 National Gold Medal Award and received accreditation as one of the first Illinois Distinguished Park Districts. Her work with Grand View Drive led to its inclusion as the only linear park on the National Register of Historic Places, as well as an award from the Peoria Historical Society and the Illinois 2003 Engineering Excellence Special Achievement Award.

Noble received her B.S. from the Department Leisure Studies at the University of Illinois. Prior to assuming her professional position with the District, Noble served the District as a Park Board Trustee, and Board President (1979, 1983, 1987 and 1991). She was a founding member of the Heartland Water Resources Council, a 45-member citizen board established in 1988. She continued her service to the Council, serving as its first paid Executive Director until 1992. 

Noble has served as Trustee and Parliamentarian of the National Board of Trustees of NRPA; Chairman of the Constitution and Bylaws Committee; Trustee, NRPA Great Lakes Regional Council; and NRPA Council of Affiliated Presidents serving as Secretary/Treasurer. 

For IAPD she has served on the Board of Directors, President, Chairman of the IAPD/IPRA Joint Legislative Committee and as a member of the IAPD Research Advisory Council. From 1986 to 1999, Noble served as a Trustee, and three years as Chairman, of the Illinois Park District Liquid Asset Fund Board. Appointed by the Governor of Illinois, Bonnie served as a member and then Chairman of the Illinois Department of Natural Resources Advisory Board, 1987-96.

Noble is also involved with several other organizations, including:  Board and Executive Committee member of Lakeview Museum; Founding member and Board member of Peoria Zoological Society; Treasurer and Assistant Secretary, Peoria Park District Foundation; Member, Mayor's Vision 2020 Leisure and Tourism Task Force; Sustainer, advisor to Junior League of Peoria and its various committees; Rotary Club; American Society of Association Executives; and RiverPlex Recreation and Wellness Center Joint Operations Committee with OSF Saint Francis Medical Center. She previously served as a Founding Member, Peoria Academy Board of Directors (2000-2003); and Member of the University of Illinois Department of Leisure Studies Advisory Board (1993 to 2002).

Her awards include: 2004 C.H.O.I.C.E.S. Sheriff Charles Schofield Award for Community Outreach; the 2002 Peoria Area Chamber of Commerce Athena Award; the Tri-County Citizen of the Year Award; the Jaycees Good Government Award; the African-American Hall of Fame Museum Community Leadership Award; the Junior League of Peoria Harriett Vance Parkhurst Spirit Award; Masonic Community Builders Award (1991); Award for outstanding dedication to and provision of Outdoor Recreation Services from the National Association of State Outdoor Recreation Liaison Officers (1989); Annual Tri-County Sports Award (1989); and the YWCA Community Award for outstanding professional achievement (1985).