News & Announcements

Announcements by Category

Filter:

Filter by Categories

Announcements

Ted Clark
/ Categories: Academy News

AAPRA Conversations that Matter

A moderated six-part series of conversations for Academy members

If I keep doing what I am about to do today for the next five years, will I end up with more of what I want or less of what I want?

Academy member Jamie Sabbach has been thinking during this COVID crisis about the impact it has had on the profession. She put her thoughts into a white paper entitled, The Future of Public Parks & Recreation – Crisis or Prosperity? [Click here to read] The Academy Board of Directors approved a trial of “AAPRA Conversations that Matter,” starting with Jamie’s white paper. 

The Conversation will take place over a 6-week period; you will sign up for all six sessions so the conversation can easily continue week to week. Conversations will be recorded so if you have to miss one, you can watch it before the next one happens. We are keeping the group size small to encourage participation. This is NOT a lecture, or a panel, or a presentation. Jamie will introduce a segment of the white paper and you will be asked to join in the conversation.

Participation Guidelines:

1. Read The Future of Public Parks & Recreation – Crisis or Prosperity? [Click Here] before the first session. 

2. Be ready to join in the conversation. As leaders we must be open to sharing our ideas and thoughts and we must be comfortable being challenged.

3. Accept there are no “right” or “wrong” answers. This is a conversation. 


To Challenge Our Thinking, Boost Our Creativity & Maybe Question Long Standing 
Beliefs & Thoughts

The Future of Public Parks & Recreation – Crisis or Prosperity?

Dates/Times:
Thursdays, beginning May 20th (May 20th, May 27th, June 3rd, June 10th, June 17th, & June 24th) 

Max of 10 participants per program
(Value = .6 CEU)

Program 1: 8:00 am PT/9:00 am MT/10:00 am CT/11:00 am ET 
[REGISTER - Program 1]

Program 2: 12:00 noon PT/1:00 pm MT/2:00 pm CT/3:00 pm ET 
[REGISTER - Program 2]

CEU’s are available; participant will absorb the $20 optional CEU fee.

 

 

 

 

 

Next Article 2021 Finalists Announced for the National Gold Medal Awards in Parks and Recreation Management
Print
95