News & Announcements

Announcements by Category

Filter:

Filter by Categories

Announcements

Ted Clark

Announcing AAPRA Virtual and In-Person Events for 2021

NRPA Conference

Virtual AAPRA Annual General Membership Meeting – Wednesday, September 15th
11:30 am PDT/12:30 pm MDT/1:30 pm CDT/2:30 pm EDT (estimated time 90 minutes)

Our virtual 2020 Membership Meeting was such a success that we plan to continue this format for 2021. At this meeting President McCarty will review the Academy’s 2021 accomplishments; self-introduction videos from the class of 2021; recognition of the 2020-21 Board of Directors; installation of the 2021-22 Board of Directors; and presentations of the Legends, Externs, and Best Paper recipients. We will also have breakout rooms for member networking. Watch for registration details closer to the date.

In-Person AAPRA Annual Banquet – Wednesday, September 22, 6:00 – 9:00 pm
Pugsley Medal Sponsors Davey Tree Expert Company & the National Park Foundation Banquet Sponsor Landscape Structures Inc. 

We will return to an in-person reception and banquet for the presentation of the 2020 & 2021 Honorable Cornelius Pugsley Medals in Parks and Conservation, recognition of the Class of 2021, Legends, Externs, and Best Paper awardee. Watch for registration and location details closer to the date.

[If your schedule precludes from attending the Banquet, we invite you to stop by the Reception, 6:00 – 7:00 pm!]

Important COVID-19 Information

Currently there are no travel restrictions in Tennessee; however, the state encourages everyone to follow health and safety practices. To learn more about Nashville’s hospitality safety program visit Nashville’s Good to Go website here. 

The safety of our members and guests is of the utmost importance to us. We will follow all federal, state and local guidelines set for in-person gatherings as well as recommendations provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the World Health Organization (WHO). 

Safety measures for the in-person event will include requiring masks to be worn, mandating 6-foot physical distancing in gathering spaces, and continually cleaning and disinfecting shared surfaces. 

If, at any time, the Academy feels we cannot create and maintain a safe in-person event or if any federal, state or local restrictions prevent us from hosting an in-person event, AAPRA will cancel the in-person components and provide virtual events.  

Questions?
If we missed giving you information you need, please contact info@aapra.org with questions or concerns. 


 

Previous Article 2021 Finalists Announced for the National Gold Medal Awards in Parks and Recreation Management
Next Article Announcing the 2022 Candidates for the AAPRA Board of Directors
Print
129