News & Announcements

Announcements by Category

Filter:

Filter by Categories

Announcements

The Academy Extends Membership Nomination Period to June 3, 2024

Ted Clark 0 0

In preparation for a successful nomination the Academy highly recommends viewing this webinar, 6 Tips to Nominate a Future Academy Member. If you are interested in becoming an Academy member, you are encouraged to reach out to a current member and inquire if they would nominate you for membership. Not sure who is a current Academy member? Click here to view Academy members by state. If are not familiar with a current Academy member, please reach out to info@aapra.org and efforts will be made to connect you. Learn more about the Academy mission and purpose and about the process and criteria for membership.

Call for Best Paper Master Doctoral Dissertation Open Through June 1st

Ted Clark 0 0

In support of its research goals, AAPRA annually hosts a research competition that alternates between best master’s thesis / special project (odd years) and best doctoral dissertation (even years). The following three awards will be given in 2024: One (1) Disseration Paper Award of $1,000 and up to $500 in travel funds to attend the NRPA 2024 Annual Conference in Atlanta, GA, October 8-10, 2024, and a Disseration Award Certificate. Two (2) Certificate of Merit awards to two Dissertation Paper finalists

2024 Conversations that Matter - Implicit Bias: How to Discover Our Innate Truths

Tuesday, June 25, 2024: 1:00pm-2:15pm EDT / Noon-1:15pm CDT / 11:00am-12:15pm MDT / 10:00am-11:15am PDT

Ted Clark 0 1

Tuesday, June 25, 2024: 1:00pm-2:15pm EDT / Noon-1:15pm CDT / 11:00am-12:15pm MDT / 10:00am-11:15am PDT
Conversations That Matter focus on critical human topics. Some topics may even be deemed sensitive, uncomfortable, or complex in nature. These conversations take place in an environment of mutual respect and inclusivity and are a safe place for people to speak their mind. All comments and questions are welcomed. No judgements. No recordings. Learn more and register

2024 Finalists Announced for the National Gold Medal Awards in Parks and Recreation Management

Ted Clark 0 0

In announcing the 2024 National Gold Medal Finalists, AAPRA Executive Director Jane H. Adams shared, “Each agency is commended for submitting a 2024 application for the prestigious National Gold Medal Award. The Academy congratulates the 20 local park and recreation agencies and the four armed forces installations on receiving the Finalist award. We look forward to presenting these awards at the Gold Medal Gala Reception in Atlanta, Georgia, as part of the National Recreation and Park Association’s annual conference.” The 2024 National Gold Medal finalists are: 

Call for Pugsley Medal Candidates Open April 9 - June 7, 2024

Ted Clark 0 0

2024 nominations will open Thursday, April 9th and close Friday June 7, 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time with the medal presented in the fall. The Pugsley Medal purpose is to honor outstanding contributions in parks and conservation. The Pugsley Medal is awarded to citizens, political leaders, park and conservation professionals who have dedicated their efforts to the advancement of parks and conservation at the local, regional, state, or national levels. Medal recipients inspire us as they have accomplished great things in furthering the parks and conservation agenda in the United States in their community in their region or state or nationally. 

RSS
12